Member's Modeling Build Logs

Moderator: Geek44

Geek44
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Sopwith Triplane in 1/32 by Wingnut Wings

Postby Geek44 » Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:20 am

Hi guys.
Time for my first build log on this forum and I hope it will be a bit of a milestone for me.
I've been building First World War aircraft now for about two or three years. It that genre of modelling I've found several new challenges in depicting wood, linen, leather and all manner of materials other than aluminium. Working in 1/48 I've been trying to home my skills a bit in readiness for what I think may be the modern pinnacle of model aircraft kit quality. Wingnut Wings.
The company was formed in the early 2000s by Peter Jackson...the director of 'The Lord of the Rings' in Wellington, New Zealand and has taken off in the last decade and now offers no fewer than 45 different kits and combinations. I first saw these kits at a club I was a member of in Melbourne about seven years ago and since then have bought five of them...with a view to tackling them in the future. Well...that future is now.

http://www.wingnutwings.com/ww/

About ten days ago I finally decided to buy myself the WnW kit I really wanted and ordered it for myself to celebrate my 47th birthday which is on September 3. The Sopwith Triplane.
True to WnW form the kits is simply beautiful. Grey sprues and a small PE fret with seat harnesses, some clear parts, beautiful looking decals and an instruction book.

Above is the box art.

Sprue diagrams and decal sheet pics.

Above is page three of the instruction book and shows the cockpit interior basically finished. I'm nowhere near this stage yet but I chose it to show the style of it. Note reference photos of the Tripe in the Shuttleworth Collection on the left and the beautifully illustrated painting and rigging guide for the cockpit on the right. Yes...rigging. More on that later.