Hello.

Site Member Introductions

Moderator: Whiterook

thughes

Hello.

Postby thughes » Thu Jan 26, 2017 7:38 pm

My name is Terry Hughes. I have been into the War Game since the late 70's. To old to remember the date. Started out with PB/PL then moved to Squad Leader. Tried ASL but all those rules just made my head hurt so I stayed with SL. Now that my kids are grown and I am about to retire I want to get back into the war gaming. :)

50th
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Hello.

Postby 50th » Thu Jan 26, 2017 9:43 pm

I started playing wargames in the 70's too. My first wargame was Luftwaffe, an AH game. My favorite games are Memoir 44, Tide of Iron, and Axis and Allies board games. I also play Battletech and a Star Trek Starship game. What are your favorites?
"It is my hope that my son, when I am gone, will remember me not from the battle but in the home repeating with him our simple daily prayer, 'Our Father who art in heaven." Douglas MacArthur <><

Frank
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Postby Frank » Fri Jan 27, 2017 2:41 pm

Welcome to the forum Terry. I am another who started in the 70`s, with D`n`D, though mainly minis gaming since that. A lot of the guys are fans of the games you mention so hopefully you will find plenty to interest you.
"Some believe that it is only great power that can hold evil in check.But that is not what I have found, it is the small everyday acts of normal folk that keep the darkness at bay. Small acts of kindness and love."
Gandalf the Grey

Lucky Luke

Postby Lucky Luke » Sat Jan 28, 2017 3:27 am

Welcome!
My first war game I ever played was Panzer Leader too! I played with some friends but the owner was a guy in love with German units and he seek victory with any means...cheating included!

So I bought SPI's MechWar'77 and started my collection...(https://boardgamegeek.com/collection/user/lucky%20luke)