Ronin

1096-1499 (Crusades, Hundred Years' Road, War of the Roses, etc.)

Moderator: Frank

Frank
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Ronin

Postby Frank » Tue Mar 22, 2016 4:22 pm

I have been playing this game for a couple of years now and I am loving it as much as when I started. A skirmish game set in medieval Japan it features an unusual combat system that really makes you think rather than just seeing who can roll the best dice like some games.

An average game is with a 200 point warband which gives you between 6 and 12 miniatures

http://www.northstarfigures.com/list.php?man=152&page=1

I did have 2 warbands, a Sohei Monk band as pictured, and a Bushi band with a similar make up to the one shown but I have now added 3 more Samurai so that I can field a small but very hard band consisting of a senior Samurai with naginata, a mid level Samurai with spear, a standard Samurai with naginata and 3 with Katana`s, 1 of whch also has a bow. He is to give me some long range offense, also in case anybody fields a Ninja as they are just annoying, decent fighters but also nearly impossible to get into combat with unless they choose to.

You can give any character level mini a varying amount of "Attributes" which can really customise them, for example my senior monk carries a big club which, fairly obviously, would be harder to use than a spear so I have given him the "fast" attribute to bring him back closer to the other guys abilities. I have also given all of my character level minis the "weapons jitsu" attribute which is invaluable, giving them the ability to reroll 1 dice in each round of combat.

The game is in phases, the first is the "morale" phase where you check that your band is still up for the fight, also you dice to see who has priority.